Acts 13:26-41

(Acts 13:26-41) – Independence Day!

“…and by Him everyone who believes is freed from everything from which you could not be freed by the law of Moses…”

The essence of the Christian Gospel is freedom!

The law of Moses had the divine ability to reveal sin, but not the divine ability to deliver sinners from it.

The law of Moses could show a person their need for God, but it could not fulfill the needs it revealed.

Jesus fulfilled the law. He perfectly accomplished it and purchased salvation by His righteous sacrifice for sinners on the cross.

Freedom, however, wasn’t won on the cross. It was won in the resurrection.

While the two are intrinsically connected, meaning neither could have significance without the other, the focus of the resurrection is the freedom to live new life in Christ.

The focus of the cross is forgiveness, and the focus of the resurrection is freedom.

I am free from having to do what my flesh wants.
I am free from having to say what my flesh wants.
I am free from having to think what my flesh wants.

I am free to do what the Holy Spirit wants.

I am free to say what the Holy Spirit wants.
I am free to think what the Holy Spirit wants.

This freedom is the heart of the good news, and it is what we proclaim to all people everywhere!

Leave a Reply

