Acts 20:13-24

(Acts 20:13-24) – "But I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may finish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify solemnly of the gospel of the grace of God."

Everywhere Paul went, there were threats upon his life. So why on earth would he be in a hurry to get to Jerusalem, knowing that he would possibly face death?

The text says that he was bound by the Spirit of God. He was compelled by God Himself to go and share the good news, regardless of the possible repercussions.

Paul was a slave of God. God was His master, and he did what he was told to do. No if's, and's, or but's, just "Yes, Lord."

I love the way that the New Living Translation phrases verse 24…

"But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God."

Yes, living the Christian life is hard at times. Yes, there are tough things we have to face because of following Jesus. But, there is no other life worth living.

That's the way we should look at it. Not "this is going to be really difficult and scary" but "this is totally worth it."

Paul could make this statement unapologetically and without hesitation. I'd like to keep growing toward that as well. How about you?

Leave a Reply

